Clairol Skin Machine

Clairol’s Skin Machine was a motorized facial exfoliating brush that gave your skin a deeper cleanse than soap and water alone. It was better than a washcloth too! In the commerical above (you’ll have to get through the Head Start hair vitamins ad first), you can see how versatile and convenient the Skin Machine really was. Use it while talking on the phone! Use it in your funky yet extremely tiny bathtub! Use it to take off makeup from the high school play! Heck, even the kids love it!

I had the Skin Machine when I was in 7th grade. I remember a commercial for the Skin Machine from around that time that featured a girl in a combat helmet, using the Skin Machine to fight the battle against acne. I think the Skin Machine came with a tiny bar of soap that was really drying. I used the Skin Machine with a bar of classic Neutrogena soap.

In the age of advanced skin care technology, Clairol’s Skin Machine may be obsolete, but the idea was innovative for its time. Without the Skin Machine, newfangled skin care gadgets such as the Clarisonic might not exist. It’s like the Sony Walkman paving the way for the iPod.

5 Comments on “Clairol Skin Machine”

  1. I had a skin machine too! It made my skin really shiny, especially my nose. The grownups thought I looked great, the kids made fun of me, so of course I stopped using it. lol

  2. I have had my skin machine for over 35 years and it still works like a champ. I wish I could purchase a new brush. It still works wonders on my skin.

  3. cme says:

    Oh gosh– those were soooo the days!

  4. Rose says:

    I still have my skin machine, but it stop working. it is really great for home facial’s

  5. Soledad says:

    Yo tengo una skin machine by clairol, que me regalaron en el año 1979, yo tenia 11 años. Aún la uso y está en perfectas condiciones.


Leave a Reply

