Candies



As with all kids, when I was young my mom bought my shoes for me. But my mom wouldn’t buy me a pair of Candies in 1979. As an adult looking back on it more than thirty years later, I can’t really say that I blame her. To be honest, backless stiletto sandals weren’t really practical for the seventh grade, nor were they age-appropriate, though that didn’t matter to me at the time. To make matters worse, the Candies corporate headquarters building was one town away from mine, and across the road from the ice-skating rink where my sister and I went skating with our friends. It mocked me every time I went ice skating. But even if I didn’t have a pair of Candies, my friend Marie did. Her mom was cool! (Did you hear that, Mom?). Whenever I went over to her house, I wore her Candies shoes all day until it was time to go home. When I walked around in them, I felt grown up, sophisticated, and really, really tall.

Today, I have for the most part given up on very high heels in favor of more comfortable shoes – not that I’m ready for orthopedic shoes, mind you. But thinking about Candies has rekindled my desire to own a pair. I don’t need my mom to buy my shoes for me anymore, and the vintage Seventies sandals that I coveted so long ago are available on eBay and Etsy. So I purchased these fabulous vintage Candies online.


I now have the height that I didn’t have in 1979, but with Candies maybe I can finally attain the glamour and sophistication that have eluded me all these years. Of course, now that I’ve bought them, I’m not sure what to do with them. They’re still a bit “dangerous” to me, because even though I’m no longer that awkward seventh grader who coveted them, I’m now the grown woman who doesn’t have the lifestyle that Candies would complement. Unless Studio 54 reopens. Then I’d be all set.

One Comment on “Candies”

  1. Jimmy says:

    Camay,

    I was in high school in ’79, and it was the best. All the girls wore Candie’s. I would love to see some pictures of you in those hot slides. Thanks, now I’ll be daydreaming of you in a tight pair of Jordache jeans, hot red nail polish, strutting along with those heels clicking. A girl from the 70’s buying vintage Candie’s…you are the ultimate!


Leave a Reply

