Maybelline Kissing Potion

Maybelline Kissing Potions were the first roll-on lip glosses. They came in an assortment of flavors, and early advertisements suggested reserving a different flavor for each boyfriend. Since I was a pre-teen in those days, I didn’t have a boyfriend, but I loved Kissing Potions nonetheless. I would buy them at my local five and ten store, which was the source of much of my Seventies’ beauty products. Come to think of it, it was the source of pretty much everything that I bought in the Seventies.

It’s interesting to note how the ads for Kissing Potion have shifted gears within a couple of years to target a different demographic. The ad above (c. 1975) plays to the sweet and innocent high school girl, complete with football-team-captain boyfriend. By 1977, disco had exploded onto the social scene. The ad below evokes the slick, sophisticated Disco Diva, her lips parted suggestively as she applies her Kissing Potion over her seductive red lipstick. I’m sure that didn’t stop many teens and pre-teens from buying Kissing Potion, but it’s comforting to know that Kissing Potions could take you from High School to Studio 54 without missing a beat.

4 Comments on “Maybelline Kissing Potion”

  1. Judy Laaper says:

    I loved this lip gloss, it takes me back in jr. high years. I loved the mighty mint.

  2. canichenoir says:

    How I loved those Kissing Potions, too! :o) However, I’m pretty sure the upper ad actually ran AFTER the lower one. You see, the lips in the lower ad belong to a young Kim Basinger, while the girl in the upper one is Deborah Foreman, who starred in Valley Girl. Deborah is almost a decade younger than Kim, so I’m thinking Kim’s ad ran around ’77 (I think I remember seeing it in the September 1977 issue of Seventeen I recently ran across at my parents’ house), while Deborah’s ad was around 1980 or so. Anyway, thanks for posting these!


Leave a Reply

